SyncTime Contact

If you want to report a problem or would like to see a new feature in the next version of SyncTime, please write a comment on this page. Every suggestion is welcome!

227 Replies to “SyncTime Contact”

  1. Hi, running the latest version and also 10.15.4 and a couple of odd things since u/g MacOS.

    Random finder windows appear when I run a sync and multiple “detect size mismatch between X Y … .DS_Store” on every sync

  2. I can’t seem to copy my iMac’s Main internal (ssd) drive to a folder inside a separate external drive, message keeps saying “The source and destination directories cannot be contained in each other.” But I am using 2 separate drives, so what does that mean? It seems like I can only sync things in one Finder folder to another Finder folder – but how can I copy an entire hard drive where its system folders must remain in the drives main Finder window? (Meaning, they can not be moved to a folder.) Thanks.

    1. Usually I don’t recommend backing up your entire drive (you can read more about this here) because you will get a lot of permission errors caused by system files. If you really want to make a full backup of your Mac, I would suggest using Time Machine, which is preinstalled on every Mac. In any case, I will fix this issue with the next update so that you can select Macintosh HD as well.

    1. Unfortunately I cannot help regarding issues with the App Store. The best thing you can do is to contact Apple directly.

  3. I synced whole USB key to an external disc. Although it finishes the sync with some errors, not sure why synctime has issues removing some files, the sync is never finsihed. Because of that it always starts the whole sync again… getting anoying as it syncs 100GB of data and never finishes, always starting over and over again.

  4. Is there a SyncTime feature that can be set to write a line of text to a log file when a SyncTime task has completed? I understand that there is a system log with details of transactions, but all I need is the ability to set a line of text with the task name and date to a specific text file, so I can easily see the history of a task.

    Thanks for the nice program! It runs much more quickly than the old program I’d been using.

    1. No, but if all you need is the latest successful date of a sync, you can see it in the status message at the bottom the sync item.

  5. Hi,

    If I have a folder Documents (Source) on my Mac Book Air 2019 and a copy of this folder (Target) on a Flash Drive.

    Using SyncTime Lite:
    If I add or update files on the Source will the Target be updated only with these changes?
    OR will the entire Source File be written to the Target?

    Likewise if I delete a file from the Source will the Target only be updated by removing the file which was deleted in the Target?

    Thank you for your assistance.

    1. By default, when you change a file on the source, the whole file will be copied to the destination (but the other unchanged files will not be copied again). You can also set up a sync item so that when you delete a file on the source, it will be deleted from the destination.

  6. Hallo,
    nach längerem Gebrauch merkte ich heute zufällig, dass SyncTime in einen Folder auf meiner USB-Karte gar keine Dateien kopiert hat! Keine Ahnung warum nicht, alle anderen Folder sind OK. Wie kann so etwas passieren?
    (27″ iMac 2016, Sierra 10.12.6)
    Best wishes,
    Rainer (UK)

    1. It seems that you are using an old version of SyncTime. Please make sure that you have the newest update installed by visiting the App Store.

  7. Hell o –

    This program is great!
    Is there any way to keep it running in the background by hiding it? If I use the yellow button it moves it to the dock but does not sync when set to auto. I have to open SyncTime for that to happen.
    It seems nothing will happen if SyncTime is not showing on the desktop and I want to have it running but hidden.

    Thank you!

    1. You can hide the main window by clicking the red close button. This will not quit the app. You can show the window again by clicking the SyncTime icon in the status bar (on the top right of the screen) and selecting “Show SyncTime”.
      Automatic sync items should run regardless of whether the window is visible or not.

  8. Just a heads up: when I click the menu option “Launch SyncTime at login” I get an error alert box that says “An error occurred.” So I am currently unable to enable this option.

  9. I would like to shut down the computer, once the sync is completed. However, in the menu under “once all syncs are completed”, there is just the sub menu “do nothing”. The shut down option is not showing up.

    Why is that? Is there a way to fix this?

  10. Hi,

    i struggle a lot with sync buddy another program from the app store.
    As it is perfectly syncing but does not delete old files.
    I need to sync a 4TB extern HHD to a second 4TB HHD regularly as i do audio recordings
    on the Drive A and just want everything same same on Drive B even, if i change (delete or add Data on Drive A).
    I thought this is a simple task, but it turns out that its obviously not.

    So, how does Sync Time deal with this task?

    Greetings,
    Pyro

    1. Yes, you have all the options to do exactly what you describe. There is no need to reformat the drives, you can just use SyncTime with your existing data.

Leave a Reply to Jeff Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *