SyncTime logs the following events:
- a file is added, overwritten, removed or moved
- file metadata is synced for files whose contents have not changed (metadata includes tags, the hidden and locked state, and any custom directory icon)
- a sync has completed without errors.
- the sync bases are unavailable when starting a sync or get disconnected during a sync
- a file cannot be scanned
- any of the file operations listed under “Success” fails
- the snapshots cannot be read or written (for two-way syncs or when tracking moved files)
- linking a file fails during an incremental backup
- a conflict occurs during two-way syncs.
By default, old logs are automatically deleted after 7 days. You can change the time interval in the Activity Logs window, by clicking on the three dots toolbar button and selecting Maximum log age.
Activity logs are saved in
~/Library/Containers/org.desairem.uSync/Data/Library/Application Support/activity logs.xml
In order to reduce the space occupied on disk and to speed up the loading time, the logs are saved in a binary XML format which is not user-readable. This file can be converted to a plain XML file. The following Terminal command creates the converted log file on the Desktop:
plutil -convert xml1 -o ~/Desktop/SyncTime_logs.xml ~/Library/Containers/org.desairem.uSync/Data/Library/Application\ Support/activity\ logs.xml