Sync types

The sync type determines how the source and the destination are compared and can be changed in the Destination tab of a sync item’s settings.

  • One-way sync: the destination acts as a backup of the source, which is never changed by a sync. This is the default sync type. Files that exist only on the source are always copied to the destination. Files that already exist on the destination are overwritten according to the overwrite policy chosen in the Destination tab of the settings. Files that exist only on the destination are deleted only if the option „Remove files not on source“ is enabled.
  • Two-way sync: merge source and destination. Files that are only on one side are copied if they have been modified * after the last sync or deleted if they have been modified before the last sync: this way, deleted files are not going to be restored with the next sync (except for the first sync, where all unique files are copied). If a file exists on both sides and one of them is overwritten, any changes to the other file will be lost since no merging is done inside the files themselves.
  • One-way move: the destination acts as a mailbox ingesting files from the source. As soon as a file has been successfully copied to the destination, it gets removed from the source.

Please note that source and destination will be compared each time a sync is run (in particular, each time the app is launched).

* If the file is indexed by Spotlight and the „date added“ attribute is available and indicates a date later than the last sync date, the file will be copied even if it wasn’t modified after the last sync, which is the desired behaviour. Since this attribute is not always available, caution is recommended when moving or renaming files managed by two-way syncs. If the attribute is not available and you want to add a file that has been modified before the last sync, you will have to copy it manually to both the source and destination or add it to the source while the sync is running in background, otherwise it could be erroneously deleted. Starting from version 2.4, you can also move a file to be deleted to the copy list and vice versa from the context menu in the confirmation window.

Please note that due to an issue in macOS 10.12 (Sierra) and later, the date added will not be set on renamed files, so that in two-way syncs they will appear in the delete queue by default. In this case, please move any renamed files manually from the delete queue to the add queue from the context menu in the confirmation window. Renaming files while a sync item is watching the source in background is safe. One-way syncs and one-way moves are not affected.