Granting access to protected files

By default, Disk Graph can only show files that are not protected by the operating system, which will result in the graph showing more free space than expected when scanning directories such as /Library or /System. In order to grant access to these protected system files, please follow the following steps.

  1. Go to System Settings > Security > Privacy.
  2. Click on the lock at the bottom left of the window and enter your system password.
  3. Click on the plus button and select the application.
  4. Click on the lock again. You can now close the window.

Backup strategy

Starting from version 2.9, you can choose whether files that are overwritten or removed from the destination should be moved to the trash or a custom folder.

A custom backup folder must be on the same device as the destination. If the backup folder is inside the destination (or the source for two-way syncs), it will be automatically excluded.

When moved to the backup folder, the current timestamp is appended to each filename. The timestamp has the format yyyy-MM-dd[T]HH-mm-ss+ZZZZ, which is independent of the current system locale and takes into account the timezone as well. This timestamp will be used in order to determine the oldest backup files that are to be removed when the destination drive has no more space available.

Follow hard and symbolic links and Finder aliases

While following hard links is supported, symbolic links and Finder aliases are not. This is a standard behaviour for sandboxed apps from the Mac App Store and cannot be circumvented.

If you want to copy files pointed to by a symbolic link or a Finder alias, you can create separate sync items taking care of these files.

Confirmation dialog

The confirmation dialog, which is displayed by default for new sync items, shows all the changes that will be applied during a sync grouped by files to be removed (left tab), overwritten (center tab) and added (right tab).

By default, while the name of regular files is always displayed in black, names of directories can be a light grey color to show that they will not be created or deleted: in the Remove tab, grey directory names won’t be deleted (but contents with a black name will) and grey directory names in the Overwrite or Add tab will not be created because they already exist.

The modification date of directories whose contents have changed is also synchronised according to the overwrite policy. An optional dot „•“ in the Size column indicates that only the destination date of a directory is going to be synchronised (and no contents are added or removed).

If the option „Always synchronise tags“ in the Destination tab of the sync item settings is enabled, files whose tags will be copied will appear in grey and show a dot „•“ in the Size column to indicate that the actual file will not be transferred.

Sync item groups

For each sync item you can define a list of groups it belongs to from its settings panel. The popup button on the right side of the toolbar shows a list of all groups that is automatically updated whenever a sync item’s groups are modified and is meant as a way to filter sync items.

For example, groups could be used to separate sync items based on their destination device, so that when connecting that device you can select the corresponding group and select the sync items all at once. Another possible scenario is when you want to distinguish between sync items needed at home or at your work place.

The status bar menu also contains an item „Sync group“ which will run all sync items in the selected group.